Habit forming

160724b

160724b (2016) oil on paper 25.5 x 35.5cm

More practice mixing colours. While I’m doing these, I’m conscious of habits forming in the way I mix and apply the paint, my choice of brushes, use of medium, etc. If I go on to make figurative paintings, I wonder how many of these habits will carry over into the pictures and shape the way they look.

I’m thinking about that because I like the way Philip Guston’s 1960s/70s figurative paintings share a family resemblance with the abstract work he’d been making earlier in the 1950s.

GustonRite1958

Philip Guston Rite (1958) oil on canvas 121.9 x 162.6cm

GustonAllegory1975oilcanvas173x186cm

Philip Guston Allegory (1975) oil on canvas

Leave a Reply

