Derain’s colour

160724d

160724d (2016) oil on canvas 31 x 32cm

Still experimenting with complementaries, now in a less structured way than with the colour wheels. I was never attracted to Fauvism before, but doing these exercises has made me look again. I like how doing painting is changing the way I look at painting.

Today I’m especially digging André Derain’s paintings of London. One-hundred-and-ten years old and still looks fresh as f@#k.

André Derain - Barges on the Thames

André Derain Barges on the Thames (1906) oil on canvas (anyone know the dimensions? let me know)

Leave a Reply

