Cherry on top

Thinking about the different roles paintings can play in life. I’ve known this painting for years, and although I’m a little queasy about Koons, this painting has a special place in one of my neural pathways. I often eat cherries with yoghurt, and literally every time I put the cherries on top I make them look a bit like this, and think about how delicious it looks in the painting, and how happy I am to be eating something similar.

JeffKoonsLoopy

Jeff Koons Loopy (1999) 274.3 x 200.7cm

I’ve tagged this post “associative pleasure” because I think there’ll be more posts in future about this aspect of painting: images that evoke pleasures other than simply visual. I’m thinking of Wayne Thiebaud’s paintings of desserts, or really any painting of appetising food, or a person that is physically attractive, a space that would be pleasurable to inhabit, etc.

WayneThiebaudPiesPiesPies1961

Wayne Thiebaud Pies, Pies, Pies (1961) oil on canvas 50.8 x 76.2cm

2 thoughts on “Cherry on top

  1. Pingback: Romantic and sexual appeal | dailydaub

  2. Pingback: Exhibition reviews: Rauch, Salle, Currin, Ruscha, Koons, Owens | dailydaub

Leave a Reply

