More acetate stencilling

160815cFlowerBush

160815c Flower Bush (2016) oil on canvas 26 x 26cm

Having tried geometric stencilling, here are some irregular shapes cut into the acetate with a stanley knife. Leaves and flowers are overlaid onto each other, but each layer must be allowed to dry before the next one is painted on, so this picture took a few weeks to finish.

Stencilling doesn’t suit my temperament. I don’t like waiting a week for each layer to dry, I much prefer to start and finish a painting in one day. I also find the stencilling fiddly to execute, compared to the freedom of gestural brush marks, where you can make choices about each brushstroke as you make it.

Having said all that, I couldn’t have painted the “flower bush” this way without the stencils (check out the two flowers I attempted to paint free-hand before I realised that a stencil would be necessary in order to match the flowers with the leaves). I quite like how the stencilling looks, despite the fact that the colour choices are very poor and the overall composition pretty dull.

I was inspired to stencil leaf shapes by this Jules de Balincourt painting (below), and the flower shape ended up being pretty similar to Warhol’s flowers.

JulesDeBalincourt

Jules de Balincourt Floating Through It (2010) oil and acrylic on panel 239 x 208.5cm

AndyWarholFlowers1964.jpg

Andy Warhol Flowers (1964) acrylic, silkscreen ink, and pencil on linen 205.4 x 205.7cm

2 thoughts on “More acetate stencilling

  1. I wonder if you are just passing through various techniques Liam, or if you want to really nail them, and absorb them. Like with the stencilling. Whether it suits your temperament or not, suck it up and make yourself an adept stencil artist. You might be riight in your judgments about your flower stencil painting. But judgments are useless at this stage. Can you not see something in your effort which is worth builiding on? And your impatience is a good thing to restrain. Eventually it will be kaboom. Like edging hahahaha.. I see something there, it doesn’t have to be earthshattering. If you are on a serious mission. I don’t know your mission, but one day I will get you up against a wall and poke my finger into your chest and demand answers. All good. I’m on board. Not sorry.

    I like to chew on your journal posts. So I can’t just read them and deal with them on the spot. I have about 10 lined up in my inbox. I might have already told you that haha.

    Like

    • I really appreciate you taking the time to do that, thank you for your input Phil! I’m still interested in stencilling, but I’d like to find more convenient ways of doing it. I know Jules de Balincourt paints on hard board and cuts his stencils directly on the board, which definitely seems a great way of doing it. Also, I find the drying time of the paint is an issue with stencilling, so if I invest in a medium that speeds up drying time then perhaps I’d get more into stencilling. I’m trying to keep an open mind to all different ways of working.

      Like

Leave a Reply

