David Shrigley on painting

shrigley

David Shrigley

I haven’t posted about him much on here, but I like David Shrigley’s paintings. Last year I spent a lot of time looking at Guston, Condo, Yuskavage, de Balincourt, Schutz and Rauch (with a little bit of Oehlen and Kippenberger thrown in). I wonder what influence it would have on my painting if I spent some time really looking at Shrigley. Would be nice to soak up some of the humour, use of text, and there’d be no issues for my colour blindness!

Does anyone have dimensions or dates for these pictures? His work is all over Pinterest, but not many people write in the details.

shrigley2

David Shrigley Untitled (It was the best work…) (2013) ink on paper

shrigley3

David Shrigley

Leave a Reply

