Cryptomnesia

screen-shot-2017-01-14-at-20-53-37

It has a name! (full definition, Wikipedia) I’ve written about this a lot. It sometimes happens when I try to paint “from imagination”, and then I remember the original source image after I’ve finished the painting.

Here are links to all the posts in which I’ve mentioned this phenomenon, which until now I’ve been calling “subconscious referencing”.

Imagination and Memory

cryptomnesia1

Subconscious reference

cryptomnesia

Here comes the queer

Blue skies, Bad Painting, and The Hairy Who

Robert Crumb’s “unconscious inspiration”

cryptomnesia3

Man in the Mirror

Subconscious repetition: Scooter Woman

Leave a Reply

