Wet on dry, monochromatic

170622aMountainRoadSmall

170622a Mountain Road (2017) oil on canvas 18 x 23cm

Experimenting with wet on dry. Usually I don’t do this because I don’t have the patience to wait for a painting to dry before continuing to work on it. Some of these are worked from photographs, others from imagination.

170622bSnowBungaloSmall

170622b House in Snow (2017) oil on canvas 19 x 21cm

I’m using only one colour of paint for each painting, lightening it with white and darkening it with black. This is an experiment to avoid hue issues in regard to my CVD.

170622cAldersonsCheckerBoardSmall

170622d Adelson’s Checker Board (2017) oil on canvas 27 x 21cm

170622fBlueTeapotSmall

170622f Blue Teapot (2017) oil on canvas 15 x 25cm

170622gBlueCoatSmall

170622g Blue Coat (2017) oil on canvas 20 x 15cm

4 thoughts on “Wet on dry, monochromatic

  1. for a mere fly on the wall, the monochrome results are astounding. The only jarring effect for me is that the right side of the wall of the house in House in Snow is just black – it is not a hue of the green.

    is there a noticeable difference in the effect of painting wed on dry?

    Like

    • That’s interesting, I see the black as the darkest extreme on a scale from black through green to white.

      There are a lot of differences between wet-into-wet and wet-on-dry, and I’m only just discovering them now. I wouldn’t want to paint everything this way, but it’s good to have a few more tricks up my sleeve for solving problems that get too smushed up in wet paint.

      Like

      • I glad you pointed out that black can be seen as simply the darkest extreme on the green continuum. I guess I would only add that the black in this painting jumps out rather, so that it looks liked you’ve blacked out that patch of the painting, rather than painted the darkest extreme of green.

        (I love Aldeson’s checker board)

        Like

  2. I see what you mean about the black. I see a similar effect with the water pouring out of the teapot. The blacks don’t simply read as darker than the blue, but as a different colour in its own right. That wasn’t my intention, but I’m learning from these.

    Like

Leave a Reply

